Reclaiming Cassandra’s Voice: An Art & Journal Prompt

Now, I don’t know about you, but Greek mythology has always captivated me. And today I was reminded of the tale of Cassandra in Greek Mythology. This woman, blessed (or maybe cursed?) with the gift of prophecy – it’s the kind of story that just sticks with you, you know?

As the story goes, Cassandra was a priestess at the temple of Apollo, the mighty god of art, medicine, and wisdom. And wouldn’t you know it, this divine deity took quite a shine to our red-haired heroine. The two got to know each other real well, if you catch my drift. And you know what they say – divinity has a way of rubbing off on you.

Sure enough, after their little tryst, Cassandra found herself blessed with the power of clairvoyance. She could see the future, plain as day. But here’s the kicker – Apollo, in a fit of rage after Cassandra spilled the beans about their relationship, cursed her. From that day on, no matter how urgently she tried to warn people, no one would ever believe a word that came out of Cassandra’s mouth.

Now, I don’t know about you, but that just doesn’t sit right with me. A woman gifted with such incredible prophetic abilities, only to be silenced and dismissed? Not on my watch, prairie fam.

That’s why, today when Taylor Swift dropped her album and I couldn’t help but notice the song title with the name Cassandra (because I have a friend of the same name who is a super TayTay fan), I was also reminded of the tale of Cassandra in Greek Mythology and wanted to use it as a journal and art prompt for some Friday inspo. And since we are having a bit of a Spring pause with the chilly weather and snow all day.. staying cozy inside and doing something like this is just the vibe I needed!

So, I’m putting Cassandra’s power front and center. And you better believe I’m incorporating some juicy symbolism to drive the point home.

What I see in my head is Cassandra, her fiery red hair framing a face of fierce determination, she looks confident and resolute. And there, coiling the space around her, a green snake – Apollo’s very own symbol – whispering secrets into her ear.

You see, in my interpretation, Cassandra’s connection to the divine isn’t some cursed burden, but a source of her strength. That snake, with its ancient associations of wisdom and transformation, is imbuing her with premonitory powers that transcend the whims of the gods. I see this as Cassandra taking back her narrative, using her gifts to protect her beloved Troy, even as the men around her refuse to listen.

It’s a powerful, inspiring vision, and today I used it as a journal prompt to write a short feminist retelling of the way that story pans out. I’ll post a seperate blog post with the the retelling soon, so keep your eyes open for that!

And I’m now working on a sketch of Cassandra in a more empowering light to go along with that.

Because let’s be real – Cassandra deserved so much better than to be dismissed and disbelieved. She was a woman of incredible foresight and conviction, and it’s high time we celebrated that.

So below is a snap of the first doodles of an idea for a sketch I’ll be working on this weekend- a tribute to the strength and resilience of women who refuse to be silenced, no matter the cost. After all, isn’t that the kind of story we could all use a little more of these days?

Also- stay tuned for a part 2 to this-my short retelling of Cassandra’s tale that I did as a journal prompt today.

And maybe the completed sketch once I’m done.

Stay inspired yall!

Happy Friday!

Leave a comment